Ernest Hemingway writes like a hard drinking six year old.

Good evening ladies and gentleman! I am pleased to inform you that I have indeed lately found myself with slightly more time on my hands than before. I resolved to not let junior year kick my ass and to let myself not freak out, and it’s working! Woo hoo!

Anyway, right now I’m reading The Sun Also Rises. And it’s good. But really stark. Hemingway has this penchant for filling a good amount of the book up with useless conversation. Which is annoying to some extent, but I spose it’s necessary. Nothing I can do about it. I’m still looking forward to finishing it. He kind of writes like a hard drinking six year old (Direct quote: “In the morning it was bright, and they were sprinkling the streets of the town, and we all had breakfast in a cafe. Bayonne is a nice town. It is like a very clean Spanish town and it is on a big river”). It’s kind of hilarious.

When I’m done though, I really want to read this book called The Virgin Suicides. I read a few pages of it in the library the other day and it’s electric. I love it. Of course, It would figure that while I have some amount of free time now, I don’t quite have enough to read a book. The gods of literature must be conspiring against me.

Guess what I just found. This is so great.

http://www.workpump.com/bugcount/bugcount.html

Published in: on 10/29/2009 at 9:41 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ricotheslovak.wordpress.com/2009/10/29/ernest-hemingway-writes-like-a-hard-drinking-six-year-old/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment